Auckland Airport announces board chair changes

28 March 2024

Auckland Airport Board Chair Patrick Strange has announced his intention to retire from the Board with effect from the close of the company’s annual shareholders’ meeting in October this year.

Mr Strange, who joined the Board in 2015 and has held the title of chair since 2018, said it had been a privilege to lead the Board.

“We have a policy that directors should, in general, serve nine years, which I will have completed, including six as Chair,” Mr Strange said.

“We have managed through the challenges of Covid and the subsequent recovery. And now the long overdue reinvestment in a major infrastructure upgrade at the Auckland Airport is underway. The Board and company are in excellent shape, and this will be an appropriate time to hand over the reins."

The board has agreed that Julia Hoare will succeed Mr Strange as Chair.

Ms Hoare, who joined the Board of Auckland Airport in 2017, is currently Chair of Port of Tauranga and an independent director of Meridian Energy and Comvita. Ms Hoare is also a member of the Chapter Zero New Zealand Steering Committee.


For further information please contact:


Helen Twose

Communications Manager

+64 27 254 0790

[email protected]


Stewart Reynolds

Chief Financial Officer (Acting)

+64 27 511 9632

[email protected]